Music

W: We Are the World

Unknown

“We are the world, we are the children
We are the ones who make a brighter day so let’s start giving”

We are nearing the end of the A-Z Challenge. I can’t believe we only have 4 more letters until the end. Where did the time go?

Today we are featuring the star-studded supergroup USA for Africa.

We Are the World was written by Lionel Richie and Michael Jackson weeks after Band Aid (the UK supergroup) released Do They Know It’s Christmas? Both songs were written about the famine in Ethiopia.

I liked this song, a lot! It was the first time so many huge stars came together for one song. This song had every huge American star, except for Madonna. What was up with that? I do have to admit that I did like Band Aid a little better, but only because it included Duran Duran and Bananarama.

Does anyone else sing this song in each singer’s voice? I do! And, I can do a pretty mean Cyndi Lauper, at least in my mind I can. And why was Dan Aykroyd in this video?

I remember when HBO showed the making of the song. At one point Quincy Jones kept hearing something in the playback. It turned out to be Cyndi Lauper’s necklaces that kept hitting the microphone when she jumped around. Lol!

This was one successful song! According to Wikipedia, the song “won three Grammy Awards, one American Music Award, and a People’s Choice Award.”  Plus, “We Are the World raised over $63 million for humanitarian aid in Africa and the US.”

6 thoughts on “W: We Are the World”

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who wonders why Dan Aykroyd is there. I get extra-into singing the Bruce Springsteen part. I don’t even know why. I can’t even do a good Springsteen. Haha! Great choice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can and do, sing in all the voices. More importantly, or weirdly, I imitate the young versions of my friends and I because we shot a video of us singing this back in 85? 86? Whenever it was! I wish I could transfer that video to the computer! Great post, and I loved your whole A to Z challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the flashback!! I graduated high school in1981 and we lived and breathed by MTV. I remember when they had the “world premiere” of this video. Coming from NJ I was mostly watching Bruce but I loved all of the singers. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think it’s really cool what was happening in the 80s using celebrities to promote and bring awareness to world problems. I too like the Band Aid Christmas song, but a few years ago I started really researching it and was surprised to find a bunch of controversies involved with the making of these songs… It’s really crazy how a song published for a good cause could potentially have so many problems. Did you see any of this when you were writing your blog post?

    Like

    1. Mandy – No I had no idea, though I have heard a few not so nice things about Bob Geldof. I didn’t dig too deep into my research for these songs, but I’ll have to read more about it. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

