Music

L: Like a Virgin

Likeavirgin

“I made it through the wilderness
Somehow I made it through”

This was THE song that started the phenomenon! And I was a HUGE fan!

While the song was probably not the greatest for little girls to sing, we still all wanted to be Madonna. The black gummy bracelets, hair bows, and lace gloves were all because of Madonna. And I did them all! I even dressed up like Madonna one year for Halloween. The funny thing was it was at a Halloween party at a local Catholic church. I remember one of the parishioners asked me who I was and I said, “Madonna”. She looked at me funny and said that I wasn’t dressed like the Virgin Mary. Oops! I guess that wasn’t the greatest choice for a costume.

I also had the opportunity of going to The Virgin Tour at the Hollywood Sportatorium in 1985. I had the ticket in my hand, but my parents said I was too young and forbid me to go. I was only ten, but still it stings A LOT! My mom told me later on that she wasn’t allowed to go to Woodstock because she was too young. Unfortunately, that doesn’t help soften the blow.

She really was sooo cool!

The song, Like a Virgin, was Madonna’s first number one hit and remained at the top of the charts for 6 weeks. It was also #2 on the year-end chart of 1985, certified gold (shipping 1 million copies across the U.S.), and propelled Madonna to be the top pop singer of 1985!

And, I am very fortunate to have both the album and the single on vinyl, although I am still looking for my Holy Grail, Like a Prayer. Maybe I’ll find it this year. *fingers crossed*

madonna

6 thoughts on “L: Like a Virgin”

  1. Love this song. I just love 80s Madonna! And early 90s as well. I was too young to understand any of the lyrics. I honestly can’t believe I used to run around the house singing her songs! Then again, I didn’t always have the lyrics right. I thought “Material Girl” was a song about how much she liked Cheerios. “I’m a Cheerio Girl!” Great song!

    Like

  2. it’s funny at that time I was like a virgin, okay I was a virgin… sad face! 😦

    Jeremy [Retro]
    AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2015]

    There’s no earthly way of knowing.
    Which direction we are going!

    HOLLYWOOD NUTS!
    Come Visit: You know you want to know if me or Hollywood… is Nuts?

    Like

  3. Bahaha. Your Halloween story is priceless. And you’ve got a lot of cool artifacts, lady! I’m impressed with the single on vinyl. Shame on parents not letting us do things for not being old enough. 😉 Oh well. I guess we’ve all been there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

