Music

I: In My House

70726f647563742f32303134303530345f6633333730392e6a7067003235300000660066

“I’ll keep you happy and so satisfied
In my house, in my house”

I LOVED this song in the ’80s! One of my most vivid ’80s memories is of me in my white and pink roller skates skating around my pool while listening to this song on my yellow Walkman.  I’m so glad I still have my beloved yellow Walkman.

Those were great times!

This song did pretty well in 1985. It hit number one on the Billboard Hot Dance Club Play chart and was a top ten hit on both the pop and R&B charts. And VH1 ranked it #52 on the 100 Greatest One Hit Wonders of the 80s. It also got a lot of heat from the parents for its inappropriate lyrics.

Listening to this song and watching the video as an adult I get it. It is a dirty song! But then again, this group was put together by Rick James who wasn’t known for being squeaky clean. And it might have been a little dirty for me as a 10 year old, but all of the innuendos went right over my head. All I knew was it was a blast to roller skate to!

2 thoughts on “I: In My House”

  1. Good song! I didn’t know Rick James put this group together. Yeah, he was soooo not squeaky clean. He’s from my hometown (Buffalo NY). I can totally see this song being great to roller skate to!
    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

Leave a Reply

